Who Says You Can’t Paint Tile?

Hello Everyone!  I just have a quick post today to show a little tweak I did.  In case you missed my post about my stencilled wall you can read about it here.  After looking at it in different lighting, I decided to make a small change.  Here it was before:

And here it is now:

Do you see the difference?  It’s subtle….I painted the tile surround in the fireplace black.

Before:

And after:

I never have liked the color of that tile.  I had rubbed some silver rub-in-buff on it awhile back because the tile almost has a pink hue.  I wanted a contrast and didn’t feel brave enough to paint the entire mantle black.  What do you think?  Do you like it better.  I’m pretty sure I do.  And yes, you can paint right onto tile.  That is just regular ol’ latex paint.  One thing to keep in mind though, this is not tile we walk on, and it isn’t exposed to any water like in a bathroom.

I have one other trick to share with you.  My Mother-In-Love shared this with me shortly after we bought the house.  If you have a gas fireplace similar to mine, this may work for you too.  Here’s what I’m talking about:

See the two brass strips?  Ya, they’re removable.  Who’d a thunk?!  They are stuck to the fireplace with magnets.  They pull right off like this

I’m just not a fan of brass, so I ripped those suckers off right away.  Pretty crazy huh?  One last picture:

Thanks for stopping by!  Have a great day!

One thought on “Who Says You Can’t Paint Tile?

  1. Hi just found your site while searching striped walls and decided to take a bigger peek through. I wanted to say we just redid our fireplace as well and actually removed the brass pieces and spray painted them with a flat black paint and slipped them back on. Easy peasy, and got rid of the tacky brass colour. 🙂 Our was framed with brass as well so we did have more brass than you.

Leave a Reply

